“When you do nothing you feel overwhelmed and powerless. But when you get involved you feel the sense of hope and accomplishment that comes from knowing you are working to make things better.” – Maya Angelou

Roles of the Legislative Committee

  • Educate members legislatively
  • Engage and empower members to take action
  • Identify current legislative issues and how they affect members
  • Research and recommend positions on legislative issues
  • Serve as a legislative resource for members
  • Support MSEA’s Mission Statement
  • Devote time and effort to fulfill the committee’s role

Would you like to join the Legislative Committee? Contact the office.

The Legislative Committee

  • Linda Jones, Chair
  • Amy Woodford, Ex-Officio
  • Laurie Larsen
  • Sue Fresonke
  • Mary Bruggeman
  • Lori Sizenbach
  • Linda Jones
  • Bradly McGarr
  • Wendy Derhaag
  • Carissa Deters
  • Deanne Glynn, Executive Director
  • Becky Gaiovnik, Staff

Legislative Resources

The Minnesota Department of Education regularly develops proposals for presentation to the Minnesota Legislature.

Minnesota Legislature publishes a reference library of topics of interest for legislators.

Legislative News:

April 12, 2019, The Recognizing Achievement in Classified School Employees Act (H.R. 276) was signed into law. The act is to acknowledge excellence displayed by classified school employees by establishing the Recognizing Inspiring School Employees (RISE) Award Program. It is an important move forward to recognize the essential services provided by classified school employees to students in pre-k through high school.

“MSEA is extremely excited that the National Classified Employee of the Year Bill has been signed by the President. With the help of Bob Canavan and Kellen Flannery setting up appointments in Washington, D.C. over the past few years, MSEA was able to meet with many of the co-sponsors to ask for their support with this bill that directly relates to the members of MSEA,” said Amy Woodford, president of Minnesota School Employees Association.  “On behalf of our membership, I wish to express our deep gratitude to those who supported this bill”.

Congresswoman Dina Titus (NV-1) spearheaded the campaign which then went to the House of Representatives for a vote on February 25th. The bill passed with a bipartisan support of 387 House Members. Co-sponsors on the bill included Rep. Betty McCollum (MN-4) and Rep. Collin Peterson (MN-7). The bill was then passed in the Senate on March 28th.