Nancy Crippen Scholarship Award Winners

Nancy Crippen served as MSEA's Executive Director from 1986 until her death in 1996. Nancy's commitment to education was demonstrated through her service on the Worthington, Minnesota Board of public school system in Minnesota. Nancy herself had attended graduate school at the U of M and taken classes at the Hubert Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, while her husband, Gary, served as an appellate-court judge on the MN Court of Appeals. Nancy and Gary passed on to their seven children the value of education as each of those children went on to receive various levels of higher education degrees. This scholarship was named in her memory to honor Nancy's strong belief that, "our children are our future and we must teach them well."
MSEA awards ten $500 scholarships to members and/or their dependent children seeking post-secondary education each year.
  • Zachary Grewe, Perham
  • Angie Hochhalter, Sartell
  • Rebecca Neadeau, Red Lake
  • Gracey Halverson, dependent of DeAnna Sorenson-Halverson, Bemidji
  • River Ivan Har, dependent of Angela Hare, Northland
  • Frederick Holbrook, dependent of Carolin Holbrook, Alexandria
  • Kalyn Krenos, dependent of Rhonda Krenos, Eastern Carver County
  • Briana Middendorf, dependent of Joanna Middendorf, Sauk Centre
  • Owen Monge, dependent of Anna Monge, Minnetonka
  • Brynn White, dependent of Beth Wiertzema-White, Worthington
  • Scholarship funds will be distributed upon proof of payment for educational courses at a post-secondary institution. Recipients must claim their award money for expenses incurred during the current academic school year or within two years from this date of notification. Award money not claimed will be forfeited by the recipient named.
  • Once you have paid for your educational courses, please submit a copy of the account statement to the Minnesota School Employees Association office at the address listed above. The recipient must include the name of the school, your name and the amount of the payment.
      • Minnesota School Employees Association
      • 10 River Park Plaza, Suite 810
      • St. Paul MN 55107
    • or email: